Professional & Organizational Development

Layoff training

If you are a UW employee separated through layoff and in active layoff status, you are eligible to take a select number of courses and workshops at a fee-exempt or fee-reduced rate.

To be eligible you must have already received your official Layoff Notification Letter and be considered by the UW as in active layoff status. You must attach a copy of this official Layoff Notification Letter to your layoff registration form. Ask your HR representative if you have any questions about your layoff status.

If you meet these criteria, you need to complete the registration steps listed below. You will be registered on a space-available basis.

How to register

  • Print and fill out the registration form.
  • Attach a copy of your official Layoff Notification Letter to the registration form (REQUIRED).
  • Attach personal CHECK for payment (unless course is fee-exempt).
  • Complete form and mail to Professional & Organizational Development.

Winter 2020 offerings

Summer 2020 Layoff Registration Form (PDF)

Fee-Exempt In-Person Courses
  • Presentation Excellence, Mondays, September 14 & September 21
Fee-Exempt Live Online Courses
  • People From Pluto: Effective Communication Strategies, Tuesday, August 11
Fee-Exempt Self-Paced Online Classes
  • How to Give and Receive Feedback, Ongoing starting Monday, July 6
  • The Not-So-Simple Sentence Structure, Ongoing starting Monday, July 6
  • Captivate Your Audience – Fundamentals of Content Writing, Ongoing starting Monday, July 6
  • Goal Setting for Success, Ongoing starting Monday, July 6
Fee-Exempt Webinars
  • Managing and Organizing Your Email Inbox—Microsoft Outlook (Sec A), Tuesday, July 14
  • Microsoft Excel Techniques (Sec A), Tuesday, July 14
  • Advanced Microsoft Excel Pivot Tables (Sec A), Wednesday, July 15
  • Microsoft Word Techniques, Thursday, August 6
  • Microsoft Excel Techniques (Sec B), Wednesday, August 12
  • Advanced Microsoft Excel Pivot Tables (Sec B), Wednesday, September 2
  • Microsoft Excel Techniques (Sec C), Thursday, September 10
  • Google Docs & Drive—Beginner, Thursday, September 10
  • Microsoft PowerPoint Techniques, Thursday, September 17
  • Managing and Organizing Your Email Inbox—Microsoft Outlook (Sec B), Thursday, September 17
Reduced Fee Hybrid Classes ($25 live online and self-paced online; attach check to registration form)
  • Mindfulness and Leadership, Thursday, July 16 & 23
  • Working Across Generations, Wednesday, July 22
Reduced Fee Webinars ($25; attach check to registration form)
  • Accomplishing More With Less for Managers, Thursday, July 16, 21 & 30
  • Accomplishing More With Less, Thursday, August 13, 20 & 27

Spring 2020 offerings

Spring 2020 Layoff Registration Form (PDF)

Fee-Exempt Courses
  • Learned Optimism: Understanding Your Explanatory Style, Tuesday, June 2
  • Turning Negative Emotions Into Positive Outcomes,  Tuesday, June 9
Fee-Exempt Webinars
  • Google Docs & Drive—Beginner, Tuesday, April 7
  • Microsoft Excel Techniques (Sec A), Thursday, April 9
  • Microsoft Excel Techniques (Sec B), Tuesday, May 12
  • 21 Practices for Happiness and Accomplishment @Work, Thursday, April 16
  • Advanced Microsoft Excel Pivot Tables (Sec A), Wednesday, April 29
  • Managing and Organizing Your Email Inbox—Microsoft Outlook (Sec A), Tuesday, May 19
  • Microsoft Word Techniques, Thursday, May 21
  • Advanced Microsoft Excel Pivot Tables (Sec B), Wednesday, June 3
  • Microsoft PowerPoint Techniques (Sec A), June 11
  • Microsoft Excel Techniques (Sec C), Thursday, Jun 11
Reduced Fee Courses ($25; attach check to registration form)
  • Writing Minutes and Meeting Notes, Tuesday, May 26
  • Negotiating Effectively, Wednesday, June 10
Reduced Fee Webinars ($25; attach check to registration form)
  • Accomplishing More With Less (Sec A), Tuesdays, April 21, 28 & May 5
  • Accomplishing More With Less for Managers, Wednesdays, May 6, 13
  • Accomplishing More With Less (Sec B), Tuesdays, June 9, 16 & 23

NOTE: UW employees separated through layoff and in active layoff status are eligible to register for all Professional & Organizational Development catalog courses, but will pay the regular UW fees for those not appearing on this page.