2017 Awards of Excellence recognize campus, community contributions

The UW community came together to recognize and honor faculty, staff, students and alumni for their outstanding contributions at the Awards of Excellence ceremony in Meany Hall on Thursday, June 8, 2017.

Those in attendance recognized and congratulated the Distinguished Staff Award recipients as well as other award-winning members of the UW community. Read more about those who were honored at the 47th annual event.

View the 2017 Recipients

University of Washington leaders, faculty, staff, family and friends came together in the HUB Ballroom on Feb. 23 to celebrate this year’s Distinguished Staff Award nominees.

President Ana Mari Cauce presented at the reception alongside Vice President for Human Resources Mindy Kornberg, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Jeff Scott, and Vice President for Minority Affairs & Diversity Rickey Hall.

Leadership remarks focused on our University’s pillars of creating a leading edge student experience, making a proven impact, and understanding our public mission as a philosophy.

Nominees received certificates along with a copy of their nominations, and guests were treated to refreshments and giveaways while cheering on their colleagues.

View All Nominees

The Distinguished Staff Award Timeline

  • October 3, 2016 – December 4, 2016

  • December

    Nominees reviewed for eligibility.

  • January

    Congratulatory letters are campus mailed to all nominees who have met the award criteria, along with an invitation to attend the Distinguished Staff Awards reception.

    Selection committee begins review of eligible nominees.

  • February

    Nominees are highlighted on the DSA website.

    Distinguished Staff Award Reception.

  • March

    Distinguished Staff awardees are notified by the Vice President of Human Resources and are invited to the University’s Annual Awards of Excellence ceremony.

    Office of the President sends congratulatory letters to awardees.

  • April

    UW Today officially announces all awardees.

  • June

    Annual Awards of Excellence and reception for all awardees.

    Distinguished Staff awardees are highlighted on the DSA website.

The 2017 Selection Committee

Photograph of Amy Hawkins

Amy Hawkins, Chair

WorkLife and Childcare Access, Human Resources
Seattle Campus

Photograph Coming Soon

Lowell Jones

Human Resources Administrator
Applied Physics Laboratory
Seattle Campus

Photograph of Bridgette Kern

Bridgette Kern

Associate Director of Internal Communications
University Marketing and Communications
Seattle Campus

Photograph Coming Soon

Amanda Koppelman

Event and Information Services Supervisor
Seattle Campus

Photograph of Amanda Patrick

Amanda Patrick

Clinic Manager
UW Psychological Services & Training Center
Seattle Campus

Photograph of Mark Pekarek

Mark Pekarek

Maintenance Mechanic Lead
Facilities Maintenance & Construction
Seattle Campus

Photograph of Denise Rollin

Denise Rollin

Human Resources Director
Administration and Planning
Bothell Campus

Photograph of Heather Ruiter

Heather Ruiter

Program Coordinator
Disability Support Services
UW Tacoma–Student Health & Wellness

Photograph Coming Soon

Brett Thomazin

Manager of Respiratory Care
Pulmonary Lab and The UW Medicine Sleep Center
Harborview Medical Center

Photograph Coming Soon

Christina VanMiddlesworth

Office Support Supervisor
School of Social Work
Seattle Campus

Photograph of Josh Wendt

Josh Wendt

Computer Support Analyst 2
UW Medicine IT Services (HWSG)
Harborview Medical Center