David B. Thorud Leadership Award

nomination criteria icon

Recognizing outstanding leadership since 2006, the Thorud Leadership Award is the highest leadership honor at the University of Washington.

2024 David Thorud Leadership Award Recipients

LeAnne Wiles

Executive Director,
First Year Programs and Strategic Initiatives,
Student Academic Services,
Undergraduate Academic Affairs

LeAnne Wiles
Angad Singh

Angad Singh

Associate Chief
Medical Information Officer,
UW Medicine

Photo of David B. Thorud

David B. Thorud

The Thorud Award honors the long and varied service of its namesake. David Thorud came to the UW in 1981 as dean of the College of Forest Resources, but then stepped into other key leadership positions when the need arose, including director of Government Relations, acting vice president of University Relations, special assistant to the president, and acting provost. Despite retiring in 2000, Thorud remains active in the UW community as dean emeritus.