HR Operations

UW holiday calendar

Below are this year’s dates for the UW’s ten scheduled holidays. Looking for dates further in the future? Check UW’s Academic Calendar.

If a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed the preceding Friday. If it falls on a Sunday, it is observed the following Monday. (This day change does not apply to medical center classified employees who work schedules that normally include holidays as part of 24 hours a day, seven days a week staffing.)

2020 holiday schedule

Holiday Date observed Day of week
New Year’s Day 1/1/20 Wednesday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 1/20/20 Monday
Presidents Day 2/17/20 Monday
Memorial Day 5/25/20 Monday
Independence Day 7/3/20 Friday
Labor Day 9/7/20 Monday
Veterans Day 11/11/20 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Day 11/26/20 Thursday
Native American Heritage Day 11/27/20 Friday
Christmas Day 12/25/20 Friday

 

2021 holiday schedule

Holiday Date observed Day of week
New Year’s Day 1/1/21 Friday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 1/18/21 Monday
Presidents Day 2/15/21 Monday
Memorial Day 5/31/21 Monday
Independence Day 7/5/21 Monday
Labor Day 9/6/21 Monday
Veterans Day 11/11/21 Thursday
Thanksgiving Day 11/25/21 Thursday
Native American Heritage Day 11/26/21 Friday
Christmas Day 12/24/21 Friday

 

2022 holiday schedule

Holiday Date observed Day of week
New Year’s Day 2022 12/31/21 Friday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 1/17/22 Monday
Presidents Day 2/21/22 Monday
Memorial Day 5/30/22 Monday
Independence Day 7/4/22 Monday
Labor Day 9/5/22 Monday
Veterans Day 11/11/22 Friday
Thanksgiving Day 11/24/22 Thursday
Native American Heritage Day 11/25/22 Friday
Christmas Day 12/26/22 Monday

 

Visit holidays for more information about the UW’s holiday and holiday credit policy