The annual David B. Thorud Leadership Award recognizes two University of Washington employees each year who demonstrate exceptional abilities to lead, serve, inspire and collaborate with broad impact.

The award is named in honor of David B. Thorud, who has effectively served the UW in leadership positions for 25 years.

Nominations are open October 17, 2016 – December 16, 2016.

2016 David B. Thorud
Leadership Award Recipients

Norm Beauchamp
Professor and Chairman, Radiology

Steve Hiller
Director of Assessment & Planning, Libraries Administration

Lead - Serve - Inspire

2017 David B. Thorud Leadership Award Timeline


  • October 17, 2016 – December 16, 2016

    Nominations submitted.

  • December

    Nominees reviewed for eligibility.

  • January

    Nominees and nominators are emailed a congratulatory email. Congratulatory letters and copies of nominations are then campus mailed to all nominees who have met the award criteria.

    Selection committee begins review of eligible nominees.

  • March

    Thorud awardees are notified by the Vice President of Human Resources and are invited to the University’s Annual Awards of Excellence ceremony.

    Office of the President sends congratulatory letters to awardees.

  • April

    UW Today officially announces all awardees.

  • June

    Annual Awards of Excellence and reception for all awardees.

    Thorud awardees are highlighted on the Thorud website.