Skip to main content

HR Operations

UW holiday calendar

The Washington State legislature provides that if a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed the preceding Friday, and if it falls on a Sunday, it is observed the following Monday. This day change does not apply to University of Washington Medical Center and Harborview Medical Center classified employees having work schedules that normally include holidays as part of the 24 hour/7 day a week staffing.

2016 holiday schedule

Holiday Date Observed Day of Week
New Year’s Day 1/1/16 Friday
Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday 1/18/16 Monday
President’s Day 2/15/16 Monday
Memorial Day 5/30/16 Monday
Independence Day 7/4/16 Monday
Labor Day 9/5/16 Monday
Veterans Day 11/11/16 Friday
Thanksgiving Day 11/24/16 Thursday
Day after Thanksgiving 11/25/16 Friday
Christmas Day 12/26/16* Monday


*
Christmas Day 2016 is observed 12/26/2016.

2017 holiday schedule

Holiday Date Observed Day of Week
New Year’s Day 1/2/17 * Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday 1/16/17 Monday
President’s Day 2/20/17 Monday
Memorial Day 5/29/17 Monday
Independence Day 7/4/17 Tuesday
Labor Day 9/4/17 Monday
Veterans Day 11/10/17 Friday
Thanksgiving Day 11/23/17 Thursday
Day after Thanksgiving 11/24/17 Friday
Christmas Day 12/25/17 Monday


*
New Year’s Day is observed 1/2/2017.